Bloom Into You: Regarding Seven Seas’ Mistakes (7)

This is a review of the English version of Bloom Into You, licensed by Seven Seas Entertainment.

Specifically, volume 7. Volume 6 was previously covered in two parts, with the latest one here.
In this volume, there is one less proofreader, a new prepress technician, a new managing editor, and the editor-in-chief changed to associate publisher.
More people found in the credits means more people are responsible for allowing these mistakes into print. Every mistake is a village.


What did I mean by love?

「好き」ってなんだったんだろう
Loss of details: quotation marks around 「好き」 are gone. Extraneous implication: now Yuu seems to question the nature of the feeling as it relates to her motive for confessing, of whether she loves Touko.
Yuu questions what “I love you” is, the nature of the feeling itself. From the start of volume 1 episode 1, Yuu’s dilemma has been about not knowing love.

What was “love”?


Yet even now that I have, I still don’t really understand it.

なのに口から出てしまったらもう正体がわからない
Concerning もう正体がわからない: now Yuu seems to have expected to understand love once she confessed. If one says things in order to understand them, couldn’t Yuu have simply practiced saying the word?
Yuu confessed because she thought she had experienced love. She became confused because she doesn’t know what to make of her reaction to Touko’s apology.

Yet once it left my mouth, I didn’t get what it was anymore.


“I’m sorry!”

ごめん
Touko’s apology is later translated with a period.
The same flashback should have the same punctuation.

“I’m sorry.”


Does this just need Sensei’s seal now?

これで先生の判子もらえばいいですか?
Sensei was previously translated as teacher. Seal was previously translated as stamp.
The same item should have the same name.

Does this just need the teacher’s stamp?


I’ll go to the teachers’ office, then.

じゃあ職員室行ってきます
The teachers’ office was previously translated as staff room.
The same room should have the same name.

I’ll go to the staff room, then.


“Um…!”

っ……
Extraneous implication: now Touko seems vocal.

Senpai.

あの
Extraneous implication: now Yuu seems confident.

Um…


If that’s going to the teacher’s office too, I can just take it.

それも職員室に持って行くならわたしが行きますから
The teacher’s office was previously translated as staff room.
The same room should have the same name.

If that’s going to the staff room too, I can take it.

Additional commentary

The teacher’s office was previously translated as the teachers’ office. The spelling and grammar is inconsistent.


Yuu must have taken that as me rejecting her confession…but I wasn’t really. I just wanted to apologize for never considering her feelings before…
But what would be the point in telling her that? Either way, the outcome is the same. I can’t reciprocate Yuu’s feelings.

侑はあれを告白への断りの返事だと受け取っただろうか そうじゃないんだよ ただ今まで君の気持を顧みなかったことを謝りたくて…
だけどそんなことを言って何になる だって結局答えは同じだ 私は侑の気持に応えられない
Concerning 君: now Touko thinks to herself instead of at Yuu. Concerning 応えられない: now Touko seems to think she can’t love Yuu, despite having done so for six volumes.
Touko practices addressing Yuu in her monologue as she rehearses her lines for “Girl B”. Touko thinks that love is about expectations. She can’t respond to something that binds her to stay as she is.

Yuu, did you take that as me rejecting your confession? That’s not what I meant. I just wanted to apologize for not considering your feelings up to now…
But what would be the point in saying that? In the end, the answer is the same. I can’t live up to your feelings.


The person who wouldn’t fall in love with me is gone.

好きを持たない君はもういない
Concerning 好きを持たない君: now Touko seems to have thought of Yuu as special because Yuu would not fall in love with her. This is inconsistent with her words in volume 1 episode 1.
Touko thought Yuu was special because Yuu did not experience, could not grasp, “I love you” or “special”. This is a parallel to volume 2 episode X, when Touko explains why Yuu seemed the kindest in the world.

The you who didn’t have love is gone now.


What did I mean by “love,” exactly?

「好き」ってなんだったんだろう
Inconsistent with this blog entry’s first example.

What was “love”?




京都
This wasn’t translated.

Kyoto


If she can pull it off…

それをやり遂げたら
Extraneous implication: now Yuu seems to question Touko’s ability to do a play.

Once she carries it out…

I wonder if Nanami-senpai will be able to stop putting on an act.

先輩は先輩になれるのかな
Now Sayaka recalls something completely different.
The publisher quoted the wrong line from volume 3 episode 14.

Will she be able to become herself?


I hope Hakozaki-sensei won’t be too cross…

箱崎先生に叱られなきゃいいけど…
Concerning なきゃいいけど: now Sayaka seems to expect to be found out.
Sayaka hopes they will not be found out because that would entail a scolding.

As long as we don’t get scolded by Hakozaki-sensei…


When did I ever tell you who I like, anyway?!

私の好きな相手が誰かなんて話しましたっけ?
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems to admit she had let it slip and comes off as rude.

Did I ever say who the person I like is?

Hmph!

……っ!
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems annoyed.

…!


Today’s Pancakes

今月のパンケーキ
Wrong measurement of time. Why would a place that uses seasonal ingredients vary pancakes by day?

this month’s pancakes


And what if you were seen gallivanting about with one of my students?!

余所様の子供を連れ回して何かあったらどうするの
Concerning 余所様の子供: now Riko seems concerned about the image of an adult with a student. Loss of details: 何かあったら is gone.
Riko is concerned about Sayaka’s well-being.

Taking another person’s child around, what would you do if something happened?


Damn it.

困る 太る
Loss of details: 太る is gone. Now Riko seems to be troubled because the pancake is delicious.

Damn it, I’m going to gain weight.


Comparing Answers

答え合わせ中
Concerning 合わせ: now the interlude seems to be about seeing how one’s decisions are similar or different to others.
Riko continues to date Miyako because she is in the middle of verifying her decision.

Checking Answers

University
Campus

大学
学部キャンパス

Loss of details: 学部 is gone.

University
Department Campus


He just didn’t like that I wanted to make my own choices!

私は自分で自分のこと決めたいだけなのに
Concerning 自分で自分のこと決めたい: now Riko seems to have been dumped for wanting to make choices.
Riko wants to decide by herself on how to live her life.

I just want to decide my own affairs for myself.


I guess nobody likes a pushy woman.

どうせ私は生意気な女ですよー
Concerning 生意気: now Riko seems to call herself someone who imposes her will on others.
Riko calls herself someone who does not respect the role of an obedient girlfriend.

Anyway, I’m just an impudent woman.


I mean, it’s not like I’m expecting anything.

いや私から用はないんだけど
Extraneous implication: now Riko seems to have subconsciously wanted Miyako to start something with her.

I mean, it’s not as if I have some business with her.


I’m the one who gets to decide what’s best for me!

私がどうするかは私が自分で決めるから
Concerning 私がどうするか: now Riko seems to talk about deciding whether things are good or bad.
Riko talks about what she will do. This is a parallel to her line three examples ago, “I just want to decide my own affairs for myself.”

I’ll decide for myself what I will do.


I have to tell her… I’m in love with her.

全て伝える 燈子が好き
Loss of details: 全て is gone. Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems more urgent.

I will convey everything. Touko, I love you.




京漬物
This wasn’t translated.

Kyoto Tsukemono

Additional commentary

The translation of Japanese things is inconsistent. “Yatsuhashi” and “wagashi” are translated as is, but “tsukemono”, “ryokan”, and “hiro-en” are translated as “pickled food”, “traditional inn”, and “veranda”.

Yatsuhashi

元祖八つ橋
Loss of details: 元祖 is gone. Also, the same sign wasn’t translated in the second image.

The Original Yatsuhashi



Jisho Shrine

地主神社
Wrong name.
This is a popular location in Kiyomizu-dera and a World Cultural Heritage Site.

Jishu Shrine



Not a translation error but a retouch(?) error.
There should be a smaller bubble as a chain to the main thought bubble.


I’m not the type to pray for help. I’d rather get what I want with my own two hands.

神頼みなんて柄じゃないし 欲しいものは自分で手に入れるけど
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems to prefer being self-sufficient, yet wants courage from the gods.
Sayaka can confess to Touko and ask her out without help, but wants some extra courage.

I’m not one to rely on gods… and I can obtain what I want by myself…

Love Fortune Stone

地主神社 恋占いの石
Loss of details: 地主神社 is gone.

Jishu Shrine Love Fortune Stone


Jisho Shrine

地主神社
Wrong name.

Jishu Shrine


Kyoto Jishu Shrine

世界文化遺産 京都 地主神社
Loss of details: 世界文化遺産 is gone.

World Cultural Heritage Site Kyoto Jishu Shrine

There is also a lettering error.
The same sign has different text before and after Sayaka attempts the challenge.


My legs falter when I try to catch up.

駆け寄ろうとする脚が震える
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems to think about approaching Touko from behind.

When I try to run up to her, my legs tremble.

My palms are on fire. My heart is fit to burst.

手のひらが熱い 心臓がうずく
Concerning 熱い and うずく: now Sayaka’s palms seem dry and her heart seems very full of something.
Sayaka’s palms are sweaty. Her heart throbs painfully.

My palms are hot. My heart is aching.

Additional commentary

Nakatani herself mentioned in an interview that “palms are hot” is a wording picked up from the spin-off light novels. The publisher also made multiple mistakes in the light novels, which can be read starting here.

But that’s why… I have to do this.

それでも だからこそ
Loss of details: それでも is gone. Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems more urgent.

Even so… that is why…


I’m not the amazing person you think I am.

私は沙弥香が期待するような人間じゃない
Extraneous implication: now Touko seems to assume she is amazing to Sayaka.
Touko thinks that love is about expectations.

I’m not the kind of person you hope for me to be.


Don’t be absurd. I know exactly who you are.

知ってるわ あなたのことなんて
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems to accuse Touko of being ridiculous.

I know… exactly who you are.


I knew right away that I wanted to walk by your side.

そういうあなたの隣を歩きたいと思った
Loss of details: そういうあなた is gone. Now the focus is on Sayaka instead of Touko.
Sayaka wanted to walk beside the perfect Touko.

That was the you I wanted to walk beside.


I heard it’s called a “veranda.”

広縁って言うんだって
Concerning 広縁: now Midori seems to treat verandas as a novel concept.
Traditional architecture should use traditional terms, such as hiro-en.

I heard it’s called “hiro-en.”

Also, there is a retouch(?) error.
The cleaning of the original text is lazy. White oblong shapes hiding the original text are visible inside the speech balloons.


If tht happened, I don’t know whether it would change my feelings.

それは好きでいられるかどうかわからない
“Tht” is not a word. Loss of details: 好きでいられる is gone. Also, now Sayaka seems to speak ambiguously.

If that happened, I don’t know if I could keep loving you.


Sun Hats

フランクフルト
Wrong sign. Now the vendor is selling something completely different. Why would a vendor sell sun hats in the autumn?
The vendor sells frankfurters, and Manaka eats one in the next panel.

Hot Dogs


Every time… someone’s said they love me… I’ve just run away.

好きだって これまで何度も言われて そのたびに逃げてかわして
Loss of details: これまで何度も and かわして are gone.

“I love you.” I’ve been told that so many times… and each time, I’ve run away, avoiding it.


I want to live up to your faith in me.

沙弥香が信じてくれるような私になりたいと思う
Concerning 私になりたい: now Touko seems to still think that love is about expectations.
Touko wants to become herself. This is a parallel to the play in volume 6.

I want to become the me who you believe in.


I see… of course it is.

そっか そっかあ
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems derisive.

I see. I see…


Touko is all I ever thought about.

ずっと燈子のことを考えてた
Concerning ずっと: now Sayaka seems to have been unable to think about anything else.
Sayaka has been thinking about Touko for a long time.

I’ve always been thinking about you.


I thought I could do… everything she would ever need.

燈子のためにできることは 私が全部してあげられると思ってた
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems to have thought that she could solve all of Touko’s problems.
Sayaka thought she did her best to support Touko.

I thought I could do… everything that could be done for you.


The words that filled my chest to bursting… actually reached Touko, in the end.

育ち続けて胸を破った言葉は たしかに燈子に届いたんだ
Extraneous implication: now Sayaka seems to have doubted whether her words would ever reach Touko.
As seen in volume 3 episode 12, Sayaka held back her words because she didn’t want them to reach Touko.

The words that kept growing and burst from my heart… have certainly reached you.


It was my first time… confessing my love to someone.

初めての 私からの愛の言葉
Concerning 愛: now Sayaka seems to simply talk about her confession.
Sayaka recognizes the depth of her love.

My first… words of love.



Not a translation error but a lettering error.
Yuu’s name was previously a different font.


The words in shōjo manga and love songs…

少女漫画やラブソングのことばが
Shōjo was previously translated as shoujo. The spelling is inconsistent.


Why don’t we do something, then? I feel like goofing off today.

どっか遊びに行かない? 寄り道したい気分なんだよね
Loss of details: どっか is gone.

Want to hang out somewhere, then? I feel like taking detours on the way home.


It’d be good… if Akari could forget that senpai… and find somebody new.

朱里がバスケ部の先輩のこと忘れて また誰かを見つけられるとしたら それはいいことだよね
Concerning それはいいことだよね: now Yuu seems sure of her thinking, and somewhat doubtful about Akari possibly finding someone new.
Yuu is somewhat doubtful about whether it would be a good thing. When Yuu tries to apply Akari’s situation to herself, she wonders if finding someone new would result in anything if she doesn’t get love in the first place. This is why she muses out loud about trying to enjoy love like Maki.

If Akari could forget that senpai… and find someone new… that’d be a good thing, right?


I said you-know-what to Senpai.

…先輩に言ったんだよ
Extraneous implication: now Yuu seems to want to avoid mentioning love, only to say it in the next line.

…I said it to her.

I thought I might finally understand that feeling.

「好き」って気持ちがわかったような気がして
Concerning わかったような気がして: now Yuu seems to have expected to understand love once she confessed. If one says things in order to understand them, couldn’t Yuu have simply practiced saying the word?
Yuu confessed because she thought she had experienced love. She became confused because she doesn’t know what to make of her reaction to Touko’s apology.

I felt like I’d gotten the feeling of “love.”


She said… “sorry.”

「ごめん」だって
Extraneous implication: now Yuu seems hesitant. Also, this is inconsistent with how the publisher translates Touko’s apology in volume 6 episode 34.
The same apology should have the same words.

She said, “I’m sorry.”


No, you can’t. You’re just running away.

それは 逃げてるだけど
Extraneous implication: now Maki seems to firmly deny Yuu.

You… are just running away.


Don’t try to pretend we’re alike.

君と僕を一緒にしないでよ
Extraneous implication: now Maki seems even harsher.

Don’t group yourself with me.


“Let me be in love with you.”

好きでいさせて
Concerning 好きでいさせて: now Touko seems to ask for permission to have feelings for Yuu.
As pointed out in the mistakes of volume 1, having feelings and expressing feelings are different things.

Let me love you.

“Yuu, I love you.”

侑が好き
This is inconsistent with how the publisher translates Touko’s line in volume 5 episode 24.


It’s not fair. She’s allowed to say it, but I’m not? What a selfish, cruel, unfair love. But even so…
it’s what I wanted for so long. It was dazzling… almost blinding.

勝手だよね わたしには許してくれないくせに わがままでずるくて不器用な 「好き」
それでもわたしには眩しかった キラキラしてた 憧れてしまう
Concerning 不器用: now Touko’s love seems cruel to Yuu. Loss of details: quotation marks around 「好き」 are gone. The box with 「好き」 is replaced by それでも. Concerning 憧れてしまう: now Yuu seems to have always wanted a selfish, cruel, unfair love.
Touko’s “I love you”s were awkward to Yuu. Yuu ended up yearning for those “I love you”s.

How selfish. She wouldn’t allow me to say it. What a selfish, unfair, awkward “love.”
Even so, to me it was dazzling, it was sparkling. I would long for it.

Additional commentary

Regarding “unfair”: I translate ずるい as “sly” or “sneaky” in fan commentaries, but these words are basically interchangeable.
Regarding “awkward”: this is a parallel to the play, where the lover calls the protagonist awkward.
Regarding “dazzling” and “sparkling”: this is a reference to Yuu’s monologue in volume 1 episode 1, where she uses the same base words.


Maki-kun is right.

そうだよ
Extraneous implication: now Yuu seems to attribute her realization explicitly to Maki.
Although Maki points out to Yuu that she is running away, Yuu does not simply accept that he is right. Yuu reflects on her memories with Touko before reaching the same conclusion.

That’s right.


The truth is, it hurts. I’m sad. I’m lonely.

だって痛い つらい 悲しい
Concerning だって: now Yuu seems to have been in denial. Concerning つらい: now Yuu seems to feel the loneliness from love. This does not make sense because Yuu felt lonely even before she came to know love. It is clearly stated in volume 2 episode 10, when Yuu lied to Touko because she was lonely, too.
Yuu feels the pain from “I love you” being answered with “I’m sorry.”

After all, it’s painful. It’s bitter, it’s sad.


But the fact is… I do want love.

それでも 「好き」がほしい
Concerning それでも: now Yuu seems to have been pretending that she did not want love. Loss of details: quotation marks around 「好き」 are gone.
Yuu knows the pain and sorrow from “I love you”, but still wants it.

Even so… I want “love.”



Not a translation error but a lettering error.
Touko’s message in the close-up is slanted.


The inside of my mouth is going numb.

舌の奥がびりびりする
Concerning 舌の奥がびりびりする: now Yuu seems to lose sensation inside her mouth.
Yuu feels as if she has something to say.

The back of my tongue is tingling.



Toomi Station was previously translated above 遠見駅.
The same sign should have the same text.


and I’m just channeling it somehow.

自分はそれを受信してるだけなんだよね
Concerning 受信してる: now Nakatani seems to say signals go through her.
The illustration shows Nakatani receiving signals.

and I’m just receiving it, okay?

Why the spiritual talk??

スピリチュアルな話か??
Extraneous implication: now the pigeon seems to ask for Nakatani’s motive.

Is this a spiritual talk??


I mean, that’s really just my frame of mind when I’m drawing it. Rationally, I know I’m creating it myself…

いやもちろん描くときの感覚とか心構えの話で 実際には私が作ってるってわかってるんだけど
Loss of details: 感覚 is gone.
The sensations and state of mind is how Nakatani knows that she is making it.

I mean, it’s my senses and state of mind when drawing. I get that it’s actually me making it…


Like it’s not me choosing their words and actions… I’m just trying to transmit the correct answers as well as I can.

台詞とか動きとか私が決めるんじゃなくて あそこにある正解をなるべく正しく伝達するみたいな
Concerning 決める and 正解: now Nakatani seems to say she transmits the correct set of words and actions to the characters.
The characters decide for themselves, and Nakatani transmits the correct interpretation of that to the readers.

It’s as though their words and actions aren’t decided by me… I’m just transmitting what happened there as accurately as possible.

I’m a medium…

私は預言者
Concerning 預言者: now Nakatani seems to speak the words of the dead.
Nakatani speaks the words of the divine.

I’m a prophet.

Talk about otherworldly…

やっぱスピリチュアルか?
Now the pigeon says something completely different.

So it’s spiritual after all?


Anyway…

それで
Concerning それで: now Nakatani seems to move on to a separate topic.
Nakatani continues from what she talks about earlier.

And so…


Anyway the story of Bloom into You…

そんな風に描いてきたやが君も
Loss of details: そんな風に描いてきた is gone.

The story of Bloom into You depicted in such ways…

Tatsuya Kusunoki-san
Makoto Katou-san
Hitoma Iruma-sensei

楠達矢さん
加藤誠監督
入間人間先生
Why is the translation of Japanese names reversed?
仲谷鳰 is translated as “Nakatani Nio”, so other Japanese names should be consistently translated as “last name first name”.

Kusunoki Tatsuya-san
Director Katou Makoto
Iruma Hitoma-sensei

everyone involved in the making of this book

ほかお仕事してくださったみなみなさま
Loss of details: ほか is gone.

Everyone else involved in the making of this book

Additional commentary

The first letter of each bullet point should be in uppercase to be consistent with previous volumes.


Would it be too much to ask for the adaptation quality to improve in the final volume?

Leave a comment